Something New – Comics Head Lite

I recently tried out the app Comics Head Lite with my Y9 class and was really pleased with how it went. Recommended to me by my HOD via Joe Dale, it’s a free app that enables the students to create a comic strip on their iPad. We used to it create a Latin comic using the story pastor et leo, from the Cambridge Latin Course.

Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 1.29.22 PM.png

Although it took a while to download on school wifi, the boys quickly got the hang of it and really enjoyed using it to retell the story. Many of them figured out how to insert and edit their own images to enhance the story even more. The free version of the app doesn’t allow you to put the frames together into a continuous story (maximum of four frames), but we saved the images and put them into a Keynote. I’ve also seen some examples online where the images have been made into iBooks using Book Creator, so I’m keen to give that a go.

I really liked how this activity went and having the boys retell the story in Latin was a good challenge, but I’m sure it would work just as well with an English translation. I’m also keen to try it with my French class (I’m thinking daily routine) and I’ll get my Y12 Classics class to retell the fall of the Roman republic too!

Leave a Reply

